top of page

7 Resolutions for 2017 (and Tips to Keep Them!)

I love new year’s resolutions. Even if we don’t stick to them, thinking about how we can improve on ourselves for the upcoming year is always an introspective experience. So to foster your optimism for 2017, here are 7 great new year’s resolutions to add to your list!

  1. Read More. I am the worst at this. Though I always say I want to read more, I tend to have a million excuses at the ready for why I can’t. However, when I actually get myself to sit down with a book, it’s so worth it. A great book I recommend for the new year is Gretchen Rubin's The Happiness Project. This book chronicles one woman’s year as she works toward her own happiness.

  2. Clean Up. The more stuff/junk we have, the more mental clutter we have. So rather than just declaring January to be a fresh start, actually make it one by cleaning up your surroundings. If you want further inspiration, watch the documentary Minimalism on Netflix. It has all the inspiration you need to clean up your world. Trust me, it’s worth it.

  3. Keep a Journal. To keep the introspective spirit of the New Year going, keep a journal! Journaling is the gift that keeps on giving, because it helps process thoughts in the moment and they are fun to look back on.

  4. Delete One Social Media Account. Social Media can be great for connecting with family and friends, but I’ve found that more often than not it is a time waster that doesn’t actually bring me closer to anyone. I recently deleted my Snapchat and Instagram and found that I really didn’t miss it too much. So if you want a little extra time in your day, consider doing the same.

  5. Watch Documentaries. Before 2016, I wasn’t a big documentary watcher. But since I maxed out all the sit-coms on Netflix, I ventured into the realm of documentaries and haven’t regretted it. Whether they’re science/nature documentaries or historical ones, they’re actually pretty interesting.

  6. Get a New Artistic Hobby. Working on art projects can be very therapeutic and fun. Even if you’re not artistically gifted (I can relate) playing around with paints and decorations can be a lot of fun!

  7. Dance! Dance in your room to your favorite music when no one’s watching - instant mood boost!

How to Keep Your Resolutions:

  • Start Small. Don’t make your resolutions drastically different from the life you already live, because it’s much more likely you’ll end up dropping them.

  • Make short-term and long-term resolutions. Don’t only make changes that you hope to accomplish by the end of 2017, because then it’s likely you’ll procrastinate and eventually forget about it.

  • Remind yourself of your resolutions. Rather than just jotting down a few resolutions on a napkin which will quickly be thrown away, type up your resolutions and put them somewhere where you will see them a lot. Seeing your resolutions constantly holds you more accountable and more likely that you’ll keep them.

Cheers to 2017! Hope you have a great New Year!


Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page