top of page

Speaking Out


Rape is always a touchy subject no matter how you start it off or where you lead it. It seems the past 3 years rape victims have me coming out more and more. Although, this is a positive thing it makes me wonder how many others haven’t had the chance to speak out. Rape is a serious issue and I wish no one that emotional, physical, and spiritual abuse that comes with it, but I do wish for more people to come out and speak out .

Speaking out is a hard thing to do when you think no one will listen. It puts you in the place where people might look at you as a victim and not a human being. I know one thing that I did struggle with when I came out was the “victim role”. I didn’t look at myself as a victim, but I did feel that I was a statistic which made it feel even worse. Although, I do not speak of it or my personal experiences, I tend to make sure that other people can and do speak out if they want . Speaking out doesn’t require a big audience. It could be a mother, sister, brother, best friend, or really anyone you're close to and feel comfortable with opening up too. Sometimes its best that you just have someone there to listen. However, it's important to know that you do not have to speak unless you’re ready. Do not feel like you have an obligation or duty to tell your story when you're not read. Pushing yourself might cause more harm than good.

The most important thing you need to know is that you are not alone. You’re not the only person that has been through this and it will get better. You have to take it one step at a time and one day at a time. The worst thing you could do is rush how your feeling and what you went through. Just know you’re going to be okay, it’s a process and everything will get better.

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page